Region’s best scoop national ice cream awards

The region’s best ice cream producers were once again recognised at the Ice Cream Alliance’s annual National Competition.

Blyth’s Ciccarelli Ice Cream won the Tony Manfredi Cup for finishing first in the Vanilla Ice Cream Class, while Lickety Split Creamery in Seaham lifted the Janet & David Barker Cup as the winner of the Open Flavour Class with its Amarena Cherry ice cream.

Whitley Bay-based Di Meo’s picked up a silver medal in the Vanilla Dairy Ice Cream Class as well as a bronze medal in the Mint Choc Chip category, and Minchellas of Seaburn earned a bronze medal for its Rasberry Sorbet.

The 77th annual event, hosted by the UK trade association for the ice cream industry, brought together hundreds of products from across the UK to compete in 13 categories – each judged blind by a panel of 43 industry experts over two days at the Ice Cream and Artisan Food Show.

Sign up to our news
You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us.